Research Databases

A

ABI/Inform Collection
Business and financial information, including market, industry, and country reports, and trade news.

Academic OneFile
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and other resources in the sciences, engineering, business, as well as humanities and social sciences areas. Includes newspapers as well as news transcripts.

Academic Search Complete
This comprehensive database supports high-level research and provides full-text access to millions of articles across all academic disciplines.

Academic Video Online
Documentaries, interviews, educational films, performances, and news clips spanning subjects such as business, film, health, history, music, and more.

AccessEngineering
McGraw-Hill resources and publications including instructional videos and classic books such as Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook.

ACM Digital Library
All Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines, proceedings, and transactions as well as citations from major publishers in computing.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
Provides citations, abstracts and some full text articles, to aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, communications and space sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA documents, and technical reports.

Aeronautics and Space Flight: Global Origins of Modern Aviation and Rocketry, 1957-1995
Digital archive of primary source materials related to the history of modern aviation, aeronautics, and space sciences during the second half of the 20th century.

AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC)
Journals, standards, ebooks and papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Air & Space Law (HeinOnline)
Accounts of the Wright brothers' flights, treatises on aerial warfare, business aspects of aviation, accident investigations, the commercialization of space, and more explored through government documents and legislation.

Aircraft Bluebook
Reports retail and wholesale prices for used general aviation aircraft and helicopters including historical values.

American Meteorological Society Journals
Provides citations, abstracts and some full text to journal and bulletin articles published by the American Meteorological Society.

Archives Unbound
Historical documents in diverse collections such as Asian, African, Latin American, and women’s studies, as well as international relations and the environment.

arXiv
Open access, moderated repository for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

ASCE Library
Research from the American Society of Civil Engineers, including journals, conference proceedings, books and standards.

ASM Handbooks Online
Information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.

ASMA Archives Online
Aviation medical journals. On ASMA Archives Online website use Login: library@erau.edu and Password: erau24asma!

ASME Digital Collection
Journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

ASME Standards Collection
Standards from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Use the “Click here to access via institutional account” link at the top-right side for access.

ASTM Compass
ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation.

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Abstracts/articles in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics.

AUVSI Unmanned Systems and Robotics Database
Profiles of air, ground, and maritime unmanned systems in use around the world.

Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN)
Aviation, aerospace and homeland security news articles, as well as market updates and industry data.

B

Begell Digital Library
Collection of leading academic, research, and applied work in the fields of engineering and biomedical sciences.

Business Source Complete
Journals, trade publications, market research reports, industry profiles, and SWOT analyses in the disciplines of business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

Business: Entrepreneurship
Small business resources including sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and websites.

Business: Insights
Company profiles and histories, brands, rankings, investment reports, chronologies, industry information, and more.

C

Cabells
Publication information about journals, including potential predatory publishers.

Cambridge Core
Journals and books across the computer sciences, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

CAPA Centre for Aviation
Limited to one user at a time. Please click Logout when finished. Provides independent market intelligence, analysis, news, country profiles, route maps, financials, and data services for the worldwide aviation industry.

CATS – Certification Activity Tracking System
Provides congressionally mandated airport financial reports of approximately 550 commercial service airports that have filed reports since 1996.

Chilton Library
Automotive help with step-by-step service and repair procedures, wiring diagrams, maintenance and specification tables, troubleshooting guides, and diagnostic trouble codes for many makes and models.

The Chronicle of Higher Education
Latest issues, daily news, current job listings, and an archive of previously published content.

Cirium
Aviation and aerospace industry news, data and other related information services. Contains technical and operational information on a range of sectors including defense, business aviation, finance, MRO, spaceflight and training.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Research in the areas of communication, mass media studies, linguistics and film.

CQ Researcher
In-depth research reports on national and global issues including social trends, criminal justice, politics, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Credo Reference
Reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, etc., covering art, history, law, psychology, science and technology.

D

DemographicsNow
Consumer and marketing demographics data, mapping tools, and census information.

Digital National Security Archive
Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events from 1945 to the present.

Dimensions
Open access publications, datasets, citations, and other research documents from fields such as engineering, medicine, physical sciences, and information systems. This free version does not include access to the grants, policy, patent, policy or clinical trial information.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A directory of open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Dissertations & Theses Global
Dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Many are available in full PDF format.

Diversity Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines covering issues of cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports
Searches declassified Department of Defense and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related documents from the Defense Technical Information Center.

E

Ebook Central
Extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects, such as aviation and human factors.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Books on varying topics related to humanities, leadership, management, accounting, and engineering.

EBSCO OpenDissertations
Provides researchers with up to 1.5 million openly available dissertations and theses.

Educator's Reference Complete
Full-text academic journals and reports on education topics.

Engineering Case Studies Online
Documentaries, accident reports, case studies, lectures and interviews on engineering failures and successes.

ERIC
Citations, abstracts, and some full text to education literature such as journal articles, government reports, conference proceedings, project and program descriptions, curriculum guides, and bibliographies.

Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991
Part of the Smithsonian Collections Online, this database contains primary documents such as photographs, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, draft technical specifications and government documents related to early flight, inventions, the military and the commercial airline industry and much more.

F

FAA Dynamic Regulatory System
A comprehensive knowledge center of regulatory and guidance material from the Office of Aviation Safety.

Federal Register Library (HeinOnline)
Contains the complete Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Administrative Procedure Act, Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, U.S. Government Manual, and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Updated daily.

FedFlix
United States Government videos covering a variety of topics from various departments and agencies.

Films On Demand
Educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content from PBS, TED, the BBC, National Geographic and more.

Florida Electronic Library
Gateway to over fifty Internet resources offering access to electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, and books, and providing information on topics such as current events, education, business, technology, and health issues. Available to Florida residents only.

G

Gale eBooks
Specialized reference sources such as almanacs, encyclopedias, and books on a variety of topics.

Gale Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.

Gale Research Complete
More than 50 databases covering business, criminal justice, the environment, literature, military and intelligence, primary sources, psychology, science, war and terrorism, and more.

Gender Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines covering significant aspects of gender in culture and society.

Global Road Warrior
A comprehensive guide to countries around the world, including facts, travel essentials, and extensive coverage of culture, history, and language.

Global Terrorism Database
Information on domestic and international terrorist attacks around the world since 1970.

Google Scholar
Locates articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, etc. from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other scholarly-focused web sites.

H

HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital repository of over 10 million volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents with more than 3 million available full text online.

Health and Medicine (Power Search)
Health, nursing, physical therapy, and sports medicine publications.

HeinOnline
Law review journals and related legal documents, including the Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library, International Treaties and Agreements, and more. Also included are special collections such as Civil Rights and Social Justice, and Women and the Law, among others.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Documents related to homeland security and cybersecurity policy, strategy and organizational management from sources including federal, state, and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

Hospitality and Tourism
Scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications on topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.

I

IBISWorld
Industry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings.

ICAO Data+
Limited to one user at a time. Please click Sign out when finished. International airline and airport statistics from the International Civil Aviation Organization.

ICAO eLibrary
Public access (read-only) to the publications repository of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), featuring Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) on international civil aviation, Conventions and Related Acts. Free registration required.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and standards in areas such as electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, media and more.

In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Full-text research information in a pro-and-con format on current social topics.

Inside Defense
News service focusing on Defense Department programs, procurement and policy-making.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Articles, news feeds, and reports related to security and terrorism issues, including those related to international politics, military, and economics.

Issues & Controversies
Up-to-date, in-depth, and objective information on current controversial issues. Combines authoritative factual analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view.

J

Janes
Provides full-text access to a number of Jane's resources, such as Jane's All the World's Aircraft, Aero Engines, Airport Review, International Defense Review, and more.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
A citation-based research tool used to evaluate and compare journals’ impact factor, ranking, and other measures of influence. For more information see the Bibliometrics Research Guide.

JSTOR
Journal articles and books about business, arts & sciences, and security studies & international relations.

K

Kanopy
Documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and instructional films.

KCI-Korean Journal Database
Korean multidisciplinary scholarly resources, from the National Research Foundation of Korea. Search in Korean or English.

L

LinkedIn Learning
Expert-led course videos for developing business, technology-related, and creative skills. Formerly Lynda.com.

Literary Reference Source
Literary encyclopedias, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

M

MathSciNet
Reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.

McGill Institute of Air and Space Publications
Current coverage of the Annals of Air and Space Law, and nearly 50 earlier publications from the McGill Institute of Air and Space Law.

Mergent Key Business Ratios
Supplies 14 key business ratios covering the areas of solvency, efficiency, and profitability and allows for company/industry ratio comparisons. Formerly Dun & Bradstreet.

Mergent Online
Detailed business descriptions, corporate histories, competitor information, and financial statements for many U.S. and non-U.S. public companies, as well as overall industry reports for North America and other regions.

Military and Intelligence
Covers key governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

MIT Press Direct eBooks
Scholarly ebooks on a variety of topics, including biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, environment, game studies, humanities, neuroscience, and social sciences.

MLA International Bibliography
Citations, abstracts and some full text from language, literature, and linguistics journals, books and proceedings, from the Modern Language Association.

Multimedia Fluid Mechanics Online
Videos and animations of fluid mechanic visualizations. Topics cover kinematics, dynamics, interfacial phenomena, similarity and scaling, boundary layers, turbulence and control volumes.

N

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NASA-created and NASA-funded materials including conference papers, NACA documents, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, patents, research reports, and technical videos.

National Academies Press
Reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films
Videos from the National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films (NCFMF).

National Fire Codes
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) codes, standards, and handbooks. Current and previous document versions are included.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business information from more than 200 U.S. government agencies.

New York Times
Daily issues of The New York Times, including multimedia content and special features. Users must create a free account.

Nexis Uni
News articles, legal cases, and company information.

NTSB Aviation Investigation Search
Contains civil aviation accidents and selected incidents that occurred within the U.S. from 1962 to present.

NTSB Case Analysis and Reporting Online
Includes all NTSB recommendations (1967-present) and data from all NTSB aviation investigations (1962-present) and surface mode investigations from 2010-present.

O

O'Reilly for Higher Education
Technology and business books covering topics such as programming, IT networking, project management, graphic design and corporate strategy - along with videos, case studies and self-assessments.

OAPEN Library
Freely accessible academic books, mainly in the areas of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
A resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions published around the world.

OverDrive
Popular fiction and nonfiction audiobooks and ebooks.

P

PBS FRONTLINE
Investigative news stories on a variety of current events from PBS.

PBS Video
Select PBS episodes from series such as Masterpiece, FRONTLINE, American Experience, Secrets of the Dead, Austin City Limits, Need To Know, NOVA, NATURE, and Independent Lens.

PLOS ONE
Research articles in biology, genetics, and medicine from the Public Library of Science.

ProQuest Central
Provides citations, abstracts, and some full-text items covering all subject areas including business and economic journals, magazines, trade, and journals in psychology and computing.

ProQuest One Academic
Four core multi-disciplinary content sets - ProQuest Central articles, Academic Complete eBook Collection, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global – can now be searched together.

PsycArticles
Full-text articles from the APA (American Psychological Association) and affiliated journals.

PsycInfo
Human factors and psychological scholarly research.

PTSDpubs
Literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.

PubMed
Biomedical and life science journal literature at the National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Includes PubMed Central, MEDLINE, and Bookshelf.

R

Read It!
Adapted reading material in many subjects for English Language Learners with a basic foundation in English grammar.

RefWorks
Designed to help researchers gather, manage, and store research information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Regional Business News
Regional business publications covering U.S. metropolitan and rural areas.

S

SAE MOBILUS
Technical papers, standards, ebooks, and related publications from SAE International.

Sage Academic Books
Ebooks across the social sciences - business, education, psychology - with unlimited simultaneous users, downloading, and printing.

Sage Business Cases
Multidisciplinary peer-reviewed business cases, many with teaching notes and discussion questions.

Sage Data Visualization
Covers the fundamentals of data and design necessary to create impactful visualizations through a series of practical video tutorials, text entries, and practice datasets.

Sage Journals
Scholarly journals in the areas of human factors, ergonomics, psychology and engineering.

Sage Research Methods
Books, charts, datasets, videos and reference content including the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series (Little Green Books), the Qualitative Research Methods series (Little Blue Books), and case studies. Helps you create research projects, understand the methods behind them, and create and share lists.

Sage Skills: Student Success
Ebooks across the social sciences - business, education, psychology - with unlimited simultaneous users, downloading, and printing.

Scholarly Commons
An open access digital repository of the intellectual output produced by the faculty, students, and staff of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

ScienceDirect
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Scientific American
Full-text access to articles from Scientific American magazine.

Scite
Tool that helps students and researchers discover and understand research findings more efficiently through Smart Citations, which show how frequently an article has been cited and whether those citations support or contrast the work.

Scopus
Abstracts and citations of scholarly articles in the fields of life science, health science, physical science, and social science.

Security Studies
Provides a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.

Space Report Online
First published in 2006, the Space Foundation’s unbiased data collection and annual reporting covers the global space economy, space infrastructure, space workforce, and space products and services.

SPIE Digital Library
Optics and photonics technical papers from SPIE journals and conference proceedings.

SpringerLink
Peer-reviewed journals in the areas of life sciences, biomedicine, behavioral sciences, engineering, and mathematics.

Statista
A multitude of international statistics on populations, industries, economics, media, opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics. Includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs, and tables.

Swank Digital Campus
Feature films and documentaries licensed to support classroom instruction. Films available may vary from semester to semester.

T

Taylor & Francis eBooks
Full-text ebooks from publishers CRC Press, Routledge, and more, on topics including engineering, technology, international relations, business, and computer science.

Taylor & Francis Online
Scholarly journals in education, humanities, social sciences, technology, and more.

Terminal Area Forecast (TAF)
Contains historical and forecast data for enplanements, airport operations, Terminal Radar Approach Control (TRACON) operations, and based aircraft. The data cover FAA towered airports, FAA contract tower airports, TRACON facilities, and non-FAA airports.

TranStats
Provides aviation data such as total passengers, market share percentages, and pie charts illustrating carrier shares for U.S. airports, as well as other transportation data from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS).

TRID
Contains citations and many links to full-text books, journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings from the Transportation Research Board.

U

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Contains detailed information on serials in all subject areas, including academic/scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, trade publications, general interest magazines, and newspapers.

V

Value Line
Limited to three users at a time. Please click Sign Out when finished. Provides access to full-text, PDF-formatted reports and analyst commentaries on approximately 1,700 stocks.

W

War and Terrorism
Historic and contemporary insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

Web of Science
Provides access to citation/abstract details for hundreds of thousands of worldwide publications such as journals (including open access journals), conference papers, books, and book chapters. Includes journal impact factors in the Journal Citation Reports tab.

Wiley Online Library
Contains a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.